Team USA Finalizes Roster for 2016 World Cup of Hockey


Team USA completed their roster for the 2016 World Cup of Hockey on Friday, by adding the seven more players.

The World Cup will take place in Toronto from September 17 through October 1. The first 16 players were announced on March 2, with the final seven being announced on Friday rounding out the 23-man roster for the tournament.

Four forwards and three defense were selected to round out the rosters. Two of the seven players added on Friday are teammates with each other on the Columbus Blue Jackets, defenseman Jack Johnson and forward Brandon Dubinsky.

Ryan Callahan of the Tampa Bay Lightning, James van Riemsdyk of the Toronto Maple Leafs and David Backes of the St. Louis Blues will round out the forwards. As Erik Johnson of the Colorado Avalanche and Matt Niskanen of the Washington Capitals were the other defenseman named to the roster.

Backes, the Blues captain, competed for Team USA during the 2010 and 2014 Olympics. His Blues were recently eliminated by the San Jose Sharks in the Western Conference Finals. During the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs, Backes scored seven goals and 14 points in 20 games.

Jack Johnson, represented the US National Team during the 2010 games, scored six goals and eight assists through 60 National Hockey League games during the 2015-2016 season. Erik Johnson, another 2010 US Olympian, put up 11 goals and 16 assists with the Avalanche this past season.

Callahan’s Lightning team, fell short of returning to the Stanley Cup Final when the Pittsburgh Penguins beat them, Thursday night in a decisive game seven battle. He represented the US Men’s Team during the 2010 games as well.

Van Riemsdyk, represented Team USA in the 2014 Olympics, where he scored seven points in six games. Dubinsky represented the Red, White and Blue at the 2008 and 2010 International Ice Hockey Federation World Championships.

Team USA general manager, Dean Lombardi (Los Angeles Kings) and head coach, John Tortorella (Blue Jackets) had some surprise omissions to their roster, during both announcements. Those omissions included, Phil Kessel (Penguins), Tyler Johnson (Lightning), Kevin Shattenkirk (Blues), Cam Fowler (Anaheim Ducks), Justin Faulk (Carolina Hurricanes), Paul Martin (Sharks), Keith Yandle (New York Rangers), Kyle Palmieri (New Jersey Devils), Torey Krug (Boston Bruins) and Nick Leddy (New York Islanders).

The entire roster for the USA World Cup Team:

Forwards: Justin Abdelkader, Detroit Red Wings; David Backes, St. Louis Blues; Ryan Callahan, Tampa Bay Lightning; Brandon Dubinsky, Columbus Blue Jackets; Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks; Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks; T.J. Oshie, Washington Capitals; Max Pacioretty, Montreal Canadiens; Zach Parise, Minnesota Wild; Joe Pavelski, San Jose Sharks; Derek Stepan, New York Rangers; James van Riemsdyk, Toronto Maple Leafs; Blake Wheeler, Winnipeg Jets.

Defense: Dustin Byfuglien, Winnipeg Jets; John Carlson, Washington Capitals; Erik Johnson, Colorado Avalanche; Jack Johnson, Columbus Blue Jackets; Ryan McDonagh, New York Rangers; Matt Niskanen, Washington Capitals; Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild.

Goalies: Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightning; Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings; Cory Schneider, New Jersey Devils.